Staff and faculty of the School of Advertising Art received recognition at the AAF Dayton’s 2017 Mercury Awards held on May 16. The awards honor advertising professionals in sales, support, media, and education.

Named Educator of the Year was SAA motion and video instructor Kelly Mercer. “I am super grateful for all the students I’ve had the pleasure of teaching, and am so proud to have been able to make even a small impact on their lives. Thank you so much to everyone,” stated Mercer.

Kelly advised the SAA National Student Advertising Competition team of 20 second-year students, which won the District 5 title on April 8. This is the first time in SAA history that the school’s team placed first in this prestigious district competition.

SAA President and Owner Jessica Barry commented, “I’m incredibly proud to call this year’s AAF-Dayton Educator of the Year Kelly Mercer a member of our faculty at SAA. I am inspired every day by her passion for our students and our industry. Congratulations, Kelly.”

Many other SAA staff and faculty were among the Mercury Award nominees:

Best Photography Rep Nominee:
Mark Werle

Best Social Media Rep Nominee:
Erin Bakara

Educator of the Year Nominees:
Karen Korn
Kelly Mercer
Sam Parker
Brent Presley

Newcomer of the Year Nominees:
Katy Modica
Doug Toles

Mike Fariello Unsung Hero Award Nominees:
Sara Farr
Kelly Mercer
Craig Patrick
Kristin Schindler
Nathan Summers